Salty Elbows

Dream of a Duck (warning not for the faint of heart or duck lovers)

In Uncategorized on August 23, 2012 at 2:29 am

My yard was full of small animals. Puppies, ducks, chickens, ferrets, mice, rabbits lived harmoniously underfoot. In fact it was hard to place a foot without nearly dashing a critter to smithereens. They were happy and fat, full of joyous calls until it got cloudy. I went inside to find more feed and hay, but by the time I returned it was too late. The ducks had gone mad with voracious hunger. Once the garden jester, their flashy yellow beaks had mutated into hideous muzzles. Gnarled wolfish teeth had already devoured my beloved Calamity, or most of her at least. I found tiny ferret hind-quarters and a tail just at the moment my rage and sorrow collided. At once I clasped a shaking fist around the neck of a gray hissing mallard with orange shark teeth and began to eliminate the evil. The first shake was hesitant and forgiving, surely painful nonetheless. As the toothed beak reared toward my wrist I found a way to channel Indiana Jones and cracked the whip on the wretched blood-thirsty beast. The ferrets quickly returned to their activities in a relaxed but aware manner. When I got out of bed, the pets were in the usual places again, and were happy to see that the storm was gracious to spare the meager scraps of food they had all become accustomed too.

Leave a Reply

